Emergency Medical Services (EMS) in Vermont is divided into 13 districts that are each governed by their own Board of Directors. This board consists of a Medical Director from that district’s primary receiving facility (hospital/trauma center) and one representative from every EMS organization covering each town in the district. The board must govern their respective district with the established  Vermont EMS rules and are responsible to help with training issues within their district by offering entry level courses, continuing education and facilitating the re-certification process of district personnel.

District 11 is located on the eastern side of south-central Vermont with a coverage area including the towns of Ludlow, Cavendish, Weathersfield, Baltimore, Weston, Andover, Chester, Springfield Londondery, Windham, Grafton, Rockingham, Athens and Westminster. Our primary receiving facility is Springfield Hospital located in the town of Springfield and our membership includes the following EMS organizations:


Bellows Falls Fire Department

Chester Ambulance Service

Golden Cross Ambulance (Claremont, NH. and Westminster, VT.)

Grafton Fire and Rescue

Londonderry Volunteer Rescue Squad

Ludlow Ambulance

Rockingham Rescue

Saxtons River First Response

Springfield Fire Department

Westminster Volunteer Fire and Rescue


By utilizing all resources available to us from both within and outside of District 11, including air response, we continue to strive towards offering the best pre-hospital care possible within a largely rural setting.